Home » book review » The Highwayman (Victorian Rebels, #1) by Kerrigan Byrne

The Highwayman (Victorian Rebels, #1) by Kerrigan Byrne

The Highwayman (Victorian Rebels, #1)The Highwayman by Kerrigan Byrne
My rating: 2 of 5 stars


“I was thinking” he said some time later as she paused for a drowsy yawn. “Since ye donna have any family to love anymore, ye could love me…”

I want to start off by saying that this had one of the most beautiful prologues I’ve EVER
But that’s pretty much the only thing enjoyable about it.
2.75 stars

I don’t enjoy writing bad reviews, I know how hard it is to write and I’m also taking into considering that this is the first in a series and I think the first book this author has written.
What is this book about? Well if you didn’t read the synopsis I’ll just said that it’s about a beautiful Fey like girl who gets kidnapped by a terrible cad who’s also terribly rich and terribly bad. But things aren’t what they seem and slowly Farah discovers the pretenses behind her capture and comes to terms with her past and well as her future. If that sounds good to you go read it! Everyone reads a book differently, I may not have liked it or really recommend it but anyone could read this and love it and others …not so much. Well, after that disclaimer..this is my review.

After the prologue the book becomes a tangle of Anachronism while following Farah’s life in London many years after the prologue. At one point she had a croissant and mentioned that she lived in a bohemian section of London….no…not in Victorian London, you didn’t do ANY of those things. And also the main characters name…is Farah, that isn’t very realistic because ‘Farah’ is an Arabic name and I doubt that many aristocratic Victorian families would name their children an Arabic name, but hey that’s just me. That was what started my distancing from the story and characters. But I willed on because one of my favorite authors recommended this series.
I was glad for a time that I continued because after Farah is with the love interest again, we had a couple of solid chapters of tension and excitement. But after the sex scene the whole book plateau-ed and I found myself not caring to go on and not caring about the couple or the story; I lost interest. The major pull in the plot is finding out if her capture is Dougan which is enough to grab many readers I’m sure but I discovered the truth very early so that excitement was gone from my reading experience.

Much can be said for the writing it is very smooth and well put together. I had no qualms with grammar just the plot devices, which was riddled with so many tropes that are just overused in this genres. It’s so important to try to be original in HR because this is a genre that heavily relies on troupes, which in many cases are great! But…just not in this one. We have, the man who can’t be touched, hidden identity, broody Scottish man, blonde special snowflake heroine. Just all the troupes that are so overused and I, in particular, am so tired of finding in almost every book. Also, toward the end of the book another villain appears and just the whole situation because so Disney villain like…it was cringe-y bad to me. I understand the story needed one more thread of tension but oh it could have been anything else. I kinda hated the direction it took in the end.

I have to say that this does include very time appropriate mentalities, funny enough; since it had so many things that didn’t belong in the time period. This also had some pretty awesome sexy scenes. I wish everything else measured up because it could have been such a good read. I have faith that the series will get better so I will be continuing but this one gets a 2.75 stars.


View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

